A gift that made me chuckle

Yesterday afternoon, I noticed the children roundabout had found some branches to play with and they were left lying on the lawn next door. Then when I went to lock up for the night they had somehow ended up strewn about my front garden.

Of course, there is an outside chance the wind could have displaced them. At the same time, my hunch is that they were thrown there.

I wish I’d taken a photograph at the time but, too late, I’d already moved them by the time I’d thought of getting my phone.

  
Never mind. However they arrived, they will go in a hugel bed, so I can only say that I am happy about that.

In a sense, I’m also relieved that the mystery of the displaced bricks might have an answer, as I witnessed the same children running along the edge of the garden to squeeze past the car, parked close up to the front garden. Quite why they do that is beyond me, but I was a child too once. So until I am close enough to ask them to go round the other side of the car, I’ll let them be.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Social and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A gift that made me chuckle

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. atkokosplace says:

    Making a few hugel beds this spring. I have two fallen trees…perfect! Have a happy day. Koko:)

  3. gaiainaction says:

    Ah but that sounds just great Helen, a brilliant gift for you, and lovely that you could see it that way 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Well, if it was the children, I’m sure they meant no harm. And if it was the adults, they probably surmised that I could make better use of the wood than they could. Otherwise, the wind did a great job, as I wouldn’t have picked it up from someone else’s lawn 🙂

  4. Gifts come in all sizes and packages, don’t they, Helen? I’m glad you’ve solved the mystery of the bricks as well.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

