Good enough for the Hepworth

Last night, I moved a big clump of Glory-of-the-snow from round the crab apple tree to the front garden.

  
They look a bit bedraggled now but next year there will hopefully be quite a show of them. They are going to be hard to eradicate from round the tree but you get nothing unless you try.

And try I think I should going on the evidence of what competition can do to young fruit bushes and trees. For I was up at Old Sleningford Farm today, where amongst other things we were taking out weeds from the bushes and trees planted at the end of the forest garden.

We also planted more fruit bushes and trees 

  
and broke up old willow branches for firewood. This has been dead wood to start with, round the toilet in the forest garden. However, it needed replacing and now there is a living wall round the said facility.

  
Someone commented that the toilet seat was quite conspicuous but I thought it would go down very well as an exhibit at the Hepworth Gallery in Wakefield. Better in the forest garden, though.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good enough for the Hepworth

  1. I like that willow wall, but must confess to my confusion about the toilet. Is that a real, working facility?

  2. Awesome handy when you need to go and your not near the house have a blessed week Helen

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

