Woods and water

In Skipton Castle Woods today, there was an abundance of wild garlic. After my unsuccessful attempt last year to grow my own, I was amazed to see the huge number of plants along the paths and mixed in with the trees.

  
Perhaps I will try again this year but even if all I can ever do is appreciate them in the countryside, it certainly could be worse. At least one thing I won’t have to contend with is cliffs collapsing under my property.

Skipton Castle and the canal, where the cliffs collapsed after the recent heavy rains

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Woods and water

  1. Kalamain says:

    They don’t make cliffs like they used to. *shakes head*

    B-)

  2. Lovely images .. Oh do try. I have such success with garlic. You can’t beat homegrown ๐Ÿ˜„

    • Helen says:

      My normal garlic is fine (ie the stuff you grow from a clove) but I have seeds for the wild garlic. I was wondering actually if there would be wild garlic in your part of the world? It is undoubtedly related to the cultivated bulbs but it is a spring plant – it likes cool, damp habitats – and you eat the leaves.

  3. mybrightlife says:

    Does the wild garlic have a small purple flower ?

  4. mybrightlife says:

    Sorry, mauve rather than purple….

  5. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  6. I think wild garlic is one of the most evocative smells of Spring – we have loads growing wild around here but I have to say I haven’t cooked with it much

    • Helen says:

      It is such a super perennial plant. There isn’t much directly where we are but I will keep looking… I have cooked with it but did it wrongly, so the greens had lost their flavour ๐Ÿ˜‰.

  7. Landslides are so scary. We’ve had several here this year because of years of drought followed by heavy rains. Many trees just gave way.

    I didn’t know garlic grew in the wild. I’m fascinated by that.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

