Seed-saving and sharing

Yesterday evening, we did a seed swap at Leeds Permaculture Network social. Perhaps because of the inclement weather, not many people turned out, but these people brought a very interesting collection of seeds and shared some equally interesting information.

Starting with the information, the most important point I learned was that when saving seed, it is best to collect it from a range of plants rather than a sole provider. Apparently, plants can suffer from inbreeding, too. The alternative, as described above, is called outbreeding.

Regarding my own seeds, I sadly forgot to take the bags of phacelia I had purposely placed by the front door, in order not to forget them. Next time I go, I might take them anyway – or I could offer them to the other PDC participants this coming weekend.

However, some of my other seeds went to new homes and in return I got an exciting little collection: broad beans, buckwheat (I really needed more of these seeds) and nasturtium (Blue Pepe). And just as exciting, when I got home guess what greeted me?

great that my getting-bigger helper can write such neat labels

The pumpkins and courgettes are also sprouting, so what with the lupins romping away as well, I think I can safely move onto the next phase of preparing my summer garden.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Seed-saving and sharing

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  2. Sounds like a worthwhile day. πŸ˜‰

  3. gaiainaction says:

    Sounds lovely Helen, you are on track, great also to have the interaction and swap seeds.

  4. I do that too .leave things behind πŸ˜ƒ interesting about the seed saving

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

