Toasting the Easter bunny

Today was officially PDC day 7 and today we were (mostly) out in the woods near Wetherby in West Yorkshire. Ostensibly we were there to look at a coppiced wood, which we certainly did. 

view towards Leeds

However, most of our time was building fires of various kinds. First, we were shown a method of making charcoal, using old drums with the sides cut open (that is, with reduced oxygen, the wood forms charcoal rather than wood ash). This charcoal can then be used as fertiliser and as a method of helping the soil retain moisture.

making charcoal – kept us warm for the afternoon

Not everyone was inspired but on the whole this caused much merriment. However, nothing quite surpassed the ‘camp fire’ which cooked our evening meal. And I don’t think the children were the only ones to have enjoyed a marshmallow bunny (which I’d got my daughter for Easter) toasted throughout the day!

marshmallows being toasted, courtesy of the younger members of the group

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Toasting the Easter bunny

  1. This is great Helen! I didn’t know that about the charcoal, a great addition to my mental encyclopedia. Thanks very much 🙂

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

