All I wanted was a Christmas tree

  
Today on day 8 of the PDC we were at LILAC (low impact living, affordable, community). It was great to have a change of venue and learn (more) about how to improve the carbon footprint of housing.

Notwithstanding, the best bit of the day for me had nothing to do with the course but rather what happened afterwards.

I had placed an add on Freegle for an old Christmas tree, so that I could make an acidic hugel bed for the blueberry bush. A kind person answered – et voila!

  
It was a bit of a tussle getting it in the car – and not any easier getting it out again. It was also just a tad scary driving it home along the M62 and the M1 (motorways, for anyone not from the UK). However, I decided that would be easier than negotiating local roads, as long as I didn’t change lanes….

Anyway, it is now safely stacked up with the rest of the hugel bed fodder. If only I could get it in the ground this minute – but I will patiently wait for the bokashi bin after next to be ready first. Hopefully therefore the rhubarb won’t be long in producing, as its leaves fill up the bin nicely.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to All I wanted was a Christmas tree

  1. Kalamain says:

    Did you not strip off all the larger, lower branches before putting it in the car?

    I’ll bet your car smells nice now though!

  2. andy1076 says:

    I’m imagining that on the road all people saw was probably this little tree lol πŸ˜‰

  3. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  4. gaiainaction says:

    You are a brave woman! Good for you and it gives such satisfaction to do something that you feel and know will help along with your growing and your permaculture plan. Wishing you great success Helen.

  5. Congratulations on the score, Helen. Only a gardener could get excited about a dead Christmas tree. πŸ˜‰

  6. You are amazing! How wonderful to be so dedicated πŸ˜ƒ

  7. I’m still smiling at this post, Helen, and at the reply from “Born to Organize”, which is perfect. Only a gardener could get excited about a dead Christmas tree.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

