The acer lives on

After moving my Japanese maple from a pot to the front garden last year, I thought it might have died. However, this morning as I left for work, I was so pleased to see it had sprung into life again. 

 

I can see that some of its leaves have a green tinge. Whether or not this means the tree will look greener, I have yet to know, but now I will have the chance to find out.

While acers may not be the most insect-attracting or edible of plants, there is certainly a place for beauty – and these trees looked very beautiful in a Japan two years ago (mine was a present from a friend closer to home). So, I will enjoy it for that and I hope others will, too.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The acer lives on

  1. jane says:

    I have had little success with Acers in the past, last year however I bought a couple from Aldi and thought I would try again, one I decided to keep in pot and one I planted in garden.. they both have sprung to life this year 🙂 well pleased too. Have joined Harlow Carr for a year, so if you want to go when your membership has run out give me a shout, I can take a guest and two kids – took out joint membership with Mark, as allowed more kids x

  2. Oooh, you have a maple! One day we’ll be creating a Japanese garden on our land, I can’t wait, I love maples so much! So glad yours is alive and well 🙂

  3. Catherine Cronin says:

    I had mine in a pot til last year, decided to plant it in garden bed.I was hoping it would do ok over winter and I now see it has buds, so glad x

    • Helen says:

      Hi Cath, good to hear from you. I deactivated my Facebook account but I wondered how your garden was getting along this year. I’m pleased your acer is doing fine after its move as well x

      • Catherine Cronin says:

        Yes….I was holding my breath. Garden doing ok….old green tunnel (sheebeen) ripped in the storms, but have replaced it. Slow start here to planting outside, but all seedlings are doing good. Happy Gardening year to you, Helen x

  4. Awesome news blessing in sharing have a blessed day

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

