The hotch-potch of seedlings

Over the last few days, I noticed seedlings starting to appear in the compost round the base of the one-year-old tomato plant in my dining room. 

  
One that you can perhaps make out in the background is phacelia (I did put flowers in the compost bin last year) but the other seedlings look like they could be budding tomato plants.

Maybe it’s wishful thinking – and time will tell – but if they are of that variety, I’m intrigued as to how so many got there, as any tomatoes that didn’t make it to the table got fermented in the bokashi, as far as I remember.

On a different note, the mangetout I sowed indoors the other day have germinated. I had been concerned that the seeds were too old, as they haven’t germinated outside. But clearly, it is the cold that’s putting them off.

There might be snow overnight, so it is unlikely they’ll be poking their heads out the ground tomorrow, either. But then, a second shoot appeared yesterday on the rhubarb, so you never know, do you!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The hotch-potch of seedlings

  1. streepie says:

    No, you never know that time of year 😉 But everything seems to be off to a good start in your house and garden.

    Our rhubarb is also poking its head out, the radishes and lettuces are growing (the first under foil, the second in the green house), it is high time to re-pot the tomatoes. And our broad beans are flowering (and being visited by bumble bees).
    I’ll be on leave next week, so have lots of gardening related things planned (and hope that the weather holds 😉 )

    High hopes hear as well!

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  3. Tomato plants pop up everywhere .. Beats me how they to it! Good luck with those seedlings

    • Helen says:

      Thank you! I think I spy a tomato seedling in the herb garden… Will see what happens and then transfer it if need be. Beats me how it survived the frost last night (although maybe the frost didn’t get as far as the ground).

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

