Hoeing the grass away

Ever since I moved into my house, I’d been wondering what to do about the grass (and other things) growing out of the path and in the Tarmac round the edge of the front garden. But today, as I got out of the car, I had a light bulb moment.

  
The upshot was that, with the help of my hoe, I managed to clear away the top of all the unwanted vegetation. I know this does not mean I can wait another six or so years before doing the job again, but I hope by a war of attrition, it will gradually give up trying to grow here.

And above all else, it is great to be able to once more do a serious amount of gardening after work, rather than simply pluck a few weeds out the back. Not that I refrained from that particular activity tonight!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hoeing the grass away

  1. Kalamain says:

    I learned that if you scrape up the turf and catch the roots the grass is less likely to come back.

    We used to use something called a turf “lifting iron” to do the same thing. A Dutch scuffle hoe is a small scale version of the lifting iron!

    Do you share a grass patch with your neighbour? If so it may be worth putting in a hard border to prevent grass creep.

    • Helen says:

      I think the grass is from a number of sources – e.g. from the neighbours’ on the other side (behind me in the photo) where I can’t put a hard border, as it would mean tampering with their lawn.

      In the case of where I was working yesterday it wasn’t from the neighbour who shares my patch but a hard border there would be good. We seem to have an issue with boundaries going on events with geraniums last summer, though… Oh, the challenges of shared space 😉.

  2. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a Helen have a blessed day

  3. I’m glad the days are longer, too. What do you plan to put here instead of the grass?

    • Helen says:

      The grass was hoed away because it was on the paths – should have made that clearer in my post. So, hopefully, I will gradually get it to stop growing on the edges of my garden into the driveway and between the cracks in the pavings. At least it looks tidier, for now and there will be fewer seeds to produce yet more weeds.

    • Helen says:

      And yes, it is brilliant to have longer days. It really makes a big difference to what you can do outside, doesn’t it?

  4. I have grass that sprouts in unwanted areas on paths .. I’m yet to nail it organically, but I’ll keep on trying.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

