Upon moving the Elijah Blue

It’s been a long time since I have spontaneously gone into the garden and then ended up on a roll. Blame it on my ornamental grass, Festuca glauca ‘Elijah Blue’, if you will!

The grass lived in the forest garden until this morning. I bought it three years ago at an RHS garden show, as much as anything because I was determined to buy something at the end of it, having chosen the final day for that very reason.

Anyway, at that time, I did not realise I was inadvertently developing a forest garden, so I popped in the ground with other ornamentals, which are now also being transferred to the front garden.

  
It almost broke my heart to dig up one of the primroses which had happily appeared by the finishing off compost bin.  It’s joined some of the cowslips my dad gave me a couple of years, which have multiplied quite a lot. (I thought at the time of their move that they were actually primroses, and I have since found out that the two are related.) But as I prefer primroses, the cowslips might be moving on again!

Not today, though…. Instead, I turned my attention to the glory-of-the-snow around the crab apple tree. Out they came and guess where they moved to?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Upon moving the Elijah Blue

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. I have to ask .. What do you do with your crabapples?

  3. drofmit4108 says:

    Primroses and cowslips are so closely related, that you can get some interesting crosses.
    Some friends gave us a “sport” from their garden… a cowslip with deep red edges to the petal tubes… and the garden primulas are a multiflower-headed primrose developed by crossing cowslips initially to give the multi-flower head… then doing primrose crosses and back-crosses to get the range of colours we see in the garden centres today.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

