Ivy and other unwanted growth

 

The ivy featured in the photo above came with the fir tree as a moving in present from a friend. It was therefore a little hard letting it go – but needs must.

Whilst the ivy was in a pot it was fine but after two years in the ground I could see the potential for it to take over. And that isn’t going to happen. 

I’ve got to dig the main roots out yet but at least I’ve made a start by pulling up/out much of the plant. It certainly liked to spread about and dig in where possible.

That is not, however, the only vegetation in need of removal. The bluebells are gradually taking over the back garden, and at a pace that makes the ivy positively pedestrian. So, I am going to let them flower first, then the leaves can go in the compost bin, while the rest will be delivered to the household waste disposal site, along with the ivy.

  

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ivy and other unwanted growth

  1. I love ivy, I know it can be a pain. We have a lot on our land, but it’s confined to one area so it’s not a problem and is actually attractive..

  2. Kalamain says:

    Like Kathy I like my Ivy and manage to keep it in a reasonable shape. But this year its starting to want to leap out of its area and take over.

    The other week I had to clip it back… The only issue is that doing this will encourage it to push again. Not sure how I will feel next year! B-)

  3. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed evening
    Helen

  4. I have ivy which is doing a fine job of trying to take over the garden. Clambering up the house and over things. How I wish I had hoisted it out in the early days.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

