Chives, tomatoes and three sisters


Over the last few months, one or other of the indoor tomato plants has delivered a fruit. Not quite as small as the one today – but now that the days are longer and warmer, production has improved!

Outside, the chives are magnificent. It’s still natural for me to think of buying food in rather than relying on what we’ve got in the garden, so these could be left to adorn the garden. However, it seems silly to add to our food bill, when there are tasty morsels growing right outside the back door. And these will grow back again.

Outside, in addition to picking, I decided to resow runner beans, as there is no sign of the first lot coming through. At the same time, having just been prompted by an article on The Three Sisters, I added a pumpkin and a sweetcorn seed to the hole. It will be interesting to see which of the plants appears first – if in fact any of them do.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Chives, tomatoes and three sisters

  1. streepie says:

    Hi Helen,
    It is still a bit early to be sowing runner beans outside. They will only germinate if the soil is warm enough. I sow mine in pots in mid April, and keep them in the green house. They germinate after a week or so. Once they grow tendrils, they are ready to be planted outside – usually mid May. I have also since learned that the seeds should not be put to deep into the soil, but rather close to the surface. According to my husband’s granny, they need to “see the moon and hear the church bells”

    Good luck with your runner beans!
    Connie

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  3. Ah the 3 sisters … one of my favourite combinations. I would love to do it again sometime, but the rats ate my corn 2 years back and I was devastated! Best of luck with yours ..

  4. pobept says:

    Those from times past sometimes had a better handhold on what does and does not work well in the vegetable garden.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

