The blue birds egg

For the first time in my life, I have been presented with a bird’s egg upon opening the back door.


It wasn’t crushed when I saw it on the patio but the shell was quite fragile. In comparison with a hen eggshell, it was like tissue paper (of the craft-making kind).

There were also the remains of something inside the shell, which I take to be a natural part of birthing, as opposed to predation. I do hope so, at any rate!

Which leaves me with the question of bird species. I have definitely seen robins round about but dunnocks… Before today, I had never heard of these little sparrow-like birds, so perhaps the shell is from a neighbouring dunnock rather than a robin.

All the same, I am glad to have learned something new this morning. ‘My’ birds are so fascinating – just today also, I saw birds passing food to each other mid-air. Pity I couldn’t get a photo of that, too.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The blue birds egg

  1. Feeding during flight .. Oh so clever! A pretty blue shell

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I could hardly believe my eyes – on both counts actually. I guess mummy or daddy bird must have been passing food for their chicks. Unless it was some kind of courting ritual.

  2. I “miss” so many amazing photos of nature in progress. What a treat to see birds exchanging food mid-flight. I can’t quite imagine it. Impressive.

    That’s a beautiful shade of blue, isn’t it?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

