Spreading the muck

After finding a blue egg shell on the patio yesterday morning, I was taken up with doing some research into birds eggs and then their behaviour in general. I had been intending to start digging for the next hugel bed but was waiting for the predicted rain to soften the contacted soil in the herb garden first.

Unfortunately, this rain turned out to be a short burst of hail towards the end of the afternoon, so it’s as well I had something else to occupy me. And watching the birds as I was reading about them was such a pleasure.


I couldn’t get a decent shot of Mr Blackbird who has made my back garden his territory but he’s the one on the left hand side perched on the green (council) fence. He’d been foraging away in the garden, when the other one you might just be able to see decided he fancied a go in the same area.

Oh no, said my blackbird. He chased the intruder along the fence and across the path into the garden behind. And again and again, as Mr Intruder clearly wasn’t getting the message about who the straw and worms belonged to. Eventually, though, stern words did the trick and all was peace once again.

However, Mr Blackbird and his wife appear to be quite partial to the compost some of my onions are growing in. In fact, they’d chucked a good few of them out of their growing space while I was at work today.

But do I mind? Not a bit…. Apart from the entertainment they provide, it’s great to have some help with getting organic matter into the soil!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spreading the muck

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing Helen may the other bird wants to make home in tour garden too have a blessed day

  2. I get loads of help from the wild birds here too .. And our escapee chickens 😃

  3. patsquared2 says:

    I actually feed the birds who then head out to the garden to uproot the transplants looking for that perfect bug (the birds, not the transplants). I love to watch the birds, too. Looks like you have a nice perch to do your bird watching from!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

