What’s that white stuff?


This morning, when I pulled back the curtains, I was rather surprised by the above scene. We have had hail and sleet this week, with unpleasantly low temperatures, so perhaps I shouldn’t be surprised. However, it is May on Sunday….

The bizarre weather doesn’t seem to have stopped the birds around doing what birds do. For the second time in history, I even saw one in my apple tree.

A magpie and pigeon were having a set-to two doors along – Mr Pigeon presumably felt disinclined to share his lawn and all its worms. In the end, the magpie got the message and took sanctuary in my tree, although I missed a shot there and instead here he is, having moved to the fence for one final ponder on his chance of success down the road.


In all this excitement, a cauliflower seedling I was hardening off got left outside but the snow and such like doesn’t seem to have done it any harm. Maybe it’s time to get it outside permanently then.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What’s that white stuff?

  1. Kalamain says:

    It’s been bloody cold the last couple of days. We have had snow, hail and a bit too much rain.

    And its nearly the end of April… It will be May in a week… What madness is this? O.o

  2. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  3. Are you in the Uk Helen? I’ve heard the weather there is going a little awry!

  4. Snow in almost-May? That’s just not right.

    I loved reading about the bird exchange. You made me smile.

  5. Gosh snowing? Heavens … we are heading into winter and our weather is still relatively mild. Mind you, it doesn’t snow in Auckland 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

