From the radish to the daffodil

At the weekend, I noticed that I had a radish. I’ve no idea when it was planted but it must have been months before Christmas. I was nonetheless pleased, as radishes don’t like my soil. And I was tempted to see how woody it would be but in the end the compost bin seemed the best place for it.


I was also pleased to see one of my daffodils in flower. I planted them too deep, which I guess explains why they are only appearing now. So, they join the tulips, which look glorious, though you probably can’t seem them clearly in the photo.


These are yet another plant that will be moving to the front garden – or maybe not. However, the daffodils can’t stay near the apple tree as they are going to hold it even further back than it is already. Still, you live and learn!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to From the radish to the daffodil

  1. Poor radish haha. Good to know that daffodils don’t go with apple trees, thanks for the tip Helen! Enjoy your tulips, they must look gorgeous!

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for the compliment about the tulips. I think they would look better in a cluster instead of dotted around anyway, so they will be moving one way or another.

      It’s more than just daffs which need to be kept away from young apple trees. Apple trees have shallow rots so any competition for their food and water will be bad for them. Now, I know that I’m gradually removing anything which could do this to them.

      On the other hand, I follow a blog in America where the writer plants nitrogen-fixing plants round her trees to give them extra nutrition. She seems to be very knowledgeable, so I might do more of that at some point (did a tiny bit last year, by chance – ie before finding the aforementioned blog).

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  3. Kalamain says:

    The daffies should naturalise over time. While you may only have an odd one or two now in a couple of years you will have clumps of them!
    All of my clumps started as 2 bulbs as I only bought a pack of 10! >.<

  4. gaiainaction says:

    Lovely update Helen, I just love tulips, they give a special feeling always, I sometimes buy them as I don’t grow them, when they are just in bud, and as the open up the stems gently fall away from the vase and the whole makes for a most beautiful picture, so elegant! Enjoy your tulips.

  5. Gardening sure is about learning .. 😀

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

