The first honey bee sighting 

Twenty-one degrees and sunny today. Sadly, very little of that could be enjoyed outside.

After work and piano and voting in the local elections, however, the forum for my local community had a special vote for how we want our community to be. This included the hope that we would be able to create our own electricity from renewables.

Anyway, who knows if this will ever come to fruition, let alone more allotments and cycle paths. But after all the gallivanting about, when I finally sat down on the patio to enjoy a few moments in the garden before dark, a bee came along to take pollen from the bluebells which have grown up in the vegetable patch.


The bee would have been long gone before I could get my phone for a picture, so I decided to enjoy the sight instead. As with the daffodils and tulips I mentioned the other night, though, the bluebells need a new home. I’m not sure the vegetable patch is the right one.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The first honey bee sighting 

  1. patsquared2 says:

    Bees…lovely. I am planting even more “Bee friendly” flowers and bushes (elderberry and goji berry) and cannot WAIT until I get my hive…

  2. Kalamain says:

    Awesome!!!
    I love watching bees in the garden and hearing that familiar Buzz sound makes me smile. B-)

  3. Awesome i have seen a couple of bumble bees around the garden lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  4. I’m just reading The Bees by Laline Paull. Am amazing fiction book that has made me really think about bees. It’s sort of weird to explain the book but I am so entranced by the main character – who is a bee. Highly recommended. Enjoy the weekend 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

