Blistering!

Xscape at Castleford was baking already at 10 am this morning.

A children’s birthday party kept me from the PDC until lunchtime but I did enjoy sitting in a cafe reading Patrick Whitefield’s The Earthcare Manual – A permaculture handbook for Brirain and other temperate climates. It’s not often I get such me-time on a Sunday morning!

Anyway, fast forwarding to the afternoon, we met up with the course to have a look round Bedford Fields, a forest garden just a mile or so from Leeds City Centre. I much prefer my own garden but I was impressed to see the marigold pictured below. It must have overwintered, whereas mine did not make it (although I am pleased to see the seeds left behind have germinated in both my gardens).

Other self-seeders appear to be the Swiss chard and poppies. I’ll have to wait a bit longer to be sure but it tickles me that I could have so many plants without having to lift a finger. 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blistering!

  1. Kalamain says:

    It’s entirely possible I walked past you yesterday!
    I was also in Xscape and freeport on Sunday morning. Me, the wife and minion went to Nostell Priory and then on to Freeport for some shopping.

    What a funny old world. B-)

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  3. Self seeded plants are the best! Little gifts for the garden.

  4. Have you read Gaia’s Garden by Toby Hemenway? It is a fabulous book on permaculture

  5. Swiss chard, eh? I wonder if it would over-winter in Ontario? Nah — way too cold.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

