Keep calm and read on

Yesterday, my daughter made some bookmarks, as you can see on the photo below.


I didn’t however get the opportunity to read until bedtime as we spend a good part of the rest of the day at Roundhay Park. I had been there many times but the woods had somehow past me by.


I wouldn’t say they were the most must-see woods in the area but I love novelty and I love trees. 


So far, one of my own trees, the cooking apple tree, which was badly affected by aphids in 2014 and 2015, is doing fine. I noticed a few aphids on it recently, so it was given a spray with neem oil. But now the blossom is out I am reluctant to spray again, in case it causes a problem for pollinating insects. 

It is a tip-bearer, so I hope it will not only produced some decent fruit this year but grow lots of shoots for next year’s crop. But first, I do hope the aphids will stay away….,

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Keep calm and read on

  1. patsquared2 says:

    Beautiful sentiment on the bookmark! I don’t get into the woods very often…but I know how soothing and healing they can be.

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  3. Kalamain says:

    It’s been a while since I stood in a forest. The only one that comes close is New Miller Dam. When I was younger we went to Sherwood forest a few times. That was impressive. Although I do remember it being very quiet.

  4. I think neem oil is only a problem for sap sucking and chewing bugs. When ever I use it, I always spray it early in the morning or late in the afternoon when the good guys aren’t around.

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for this info.

      Last time I sprayed – at about 9 pm – there was a ladybird on the tree. Still, my climate is different from yours – maybe all wildlife here needs to be out as late as possible to get the food in!

  5. Button Bears says:

    👏👏👏👏Very talented daughter, lovely bookmark. It’s always special to receive a handmade item. I also love to visit the woods, a place of peace and calm. Good for the soul.
    X

    • Helen says:

      Thank you for the comment on my daughter’s handiwork 😊.

      There are woods closer to me which I would like to explore more but life seems to get in the way!

  6. I hope you get some descent fruit too. My blueberry bush gave me 3 blueberries this year. Three is better than zero. Sometimes, all you need is soapy dishwashing liquid to get rid of bugs. It won’t hurt the tree or any plants. I don’t measure, but I would say 1 teaspoon dishwashing liquid to 2 cups water and shake well, spray thoroughly.

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for your suggestion, Marcella.

      I think I will only get about three blueberries this year – but I understand that that is because of new growth, so all being well there will be a big crop next year 😊.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

