Three Sisters peeping through

The second attempt at courgettes seems to have been a fail, so I have sown some more in perhaps the vain hope of the third round germinating. On the other hand, I’m ever so pleased that the runner beans are finally showing through the ground!


There’s also a sign of a pumpkin, so all in all it looks like the bamboo canes, which have been ready and waiting in the soil for a long time, might actually come in useful.

It’s not so great that brambles are still present in that patch of ground but I’ll keep cutting them down until all the crops I want have finished. Then I’ll have the underlying roots out. 

Last but not least, the Jerusalem artichokes are growing in this area, too. All being well, they won’t interfere with the Three Sisters but there’s nothing I can do about them right now. At least it’s a crop I want.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Three Sisters peeping through

  1. Good luck with the beans – ours are a magnet for various disasters!

  2. Kalamain says:

    Are Jerusalem artichokes worth the effort?
    I want to try them as an alternative to potatoes in salads.

    • Helen says:

      Hard question to answer re JA. First, of course, it depends if you actually like them. Second, it depends how much space you are prepared to let them take over. I think I put two tubers in the ground but now the area they take up is about four times the size and there must be twenty or more plants appearing. That’s in three years.

      However, it does mean I should get quite a few tubers – and you can leave them in the ground till you need them as they are frost and snow hardy. They are also not an ‘effort’ as such because pests don’t seem to bother them – they just grow. And after the initial purchase I’ve not had to buy anymore tubers.

      You tend to get a lot more tubers if you put them in a container with compost – if in comparison you’ve got heavy soil like me. On someone else’s blog, I saw how in highly amended soil the gardener got a huge crop.

      • Kalamain says:

        Oooo. Thanks for that. I do rather like JAs. They have a very nice nutty kind of taste. It’s just the shape that is a pain. But that’s why it’s good for salads and the like.

        • Helen says:

          I’ve heard that you can slice them up and use them like water chestnuts in stir fry, so I’ll try that this year. The ones I have are actually quite smooth, anyway.

          I never peel them, though. That makes them much easier to use 😊.

          • Kalamain says:

            I saw notes that said to just wash them and cook them as most of the nutrition is in the skin, just like with potatoes, and indeed most root crops.

            I may have a go next year. I think I’m too late this year.

          • Helen says:

            Yes, maybe a bit late this year. The roots don’t keep for long and they start growing in March.

            I tend not to peel any root vegetables – saves time as well 😊.

  3. Great news Helen! Really pleased you’ve got stuff coming up now 🙂

  4. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  5. Three sisters is one of my fav combinations. Originally from Peru I think .. I add sunflowers to mine, which the beans love climbing up. Cucumber is also good to grow underneath .. 😄

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

