Repurposing the repurposed

Officially, the last day for frost risk is 22 degrees Celsius in Leeds. Not sure if it is the same where I am but since the night time temperatures are predicted to be about 10 degrees over the next few days, I think it’s a reasonable assumption that it’s safe enough for pumpkins which have been hardened off.

 
That said, there’s no harm in providing a little extra warmth, if the materials are about. So, once I’d got my pumpkins in the ground  this morning, I thought the repurposed packaging they had been started off in might as well be popped round one of them. (The other has a repurposed milk carton for cover.)

In the above photo you can also see self-sown lettuce and chard. Then there’s the mangetout I sowed directly in the ground, which are finally coming on, as well as some carrots. So, the ground is already well covered.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Repurposing the repurposed

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing Helen have a blessed day

  2. Kalamain says:

    I can get my squash in then? Awesome…
    I’ll start hardening them off during the day and with luck in the ground next week.

    This weird winter/spring is annoying. >.>

    • Helen says:

      Yes, possibly. That said, if you want to be sure, maybe next week or the beginning of June would be safer. The soil won’t have warmed up, which might be the thing that causes problems. Last year, I lost most of my courgettes because it was so cold but I don’t think it’s as bad this year.

      • Kalamain says:

        I still have a week or so to harden then off before I do anything. So I can still play a waiting game

        • Helen says:

          Hope it works out for you!

          I needed to get the pumpkins in the ground as they were fed up of being in a pot. And without a greenhouse, I needed the space indoors.

          • Kalamain says:

            my greenhouse is only really for getting things started. and I only built my original one because the wife was getting annoyed with me having plants all over the show!

          • Helen says:

            I’ve got seedlings everywhere – thinking if a greenhouse is too big, maybe a cold frame would work. I don’t mind seedlings/pots everywhere but then it is my hobby!

            Indoors isn’t such a great place for raising seedlings, though, is it? When I see photos of tomato plants, for example, raised in a greenhouse in comparison with my puny efforts, I can only sigh….. Another reason for having as many perennials as possible or direct sowing 😊.

          • Kalamain says:

            LOL!
            I think the difference is that many commercial greenhouses are heated. Buggered if I could afford that!

            One thing I was looking at is a recycled window frame used as a cold frame. So if you know of someone who is getting new windows see if you could pinch one of the larger ones.

            http://theselfsufficientliving.com/cold-frame-plans-easy-build/

            This kind of idea.

          • Helen says:

            Even people blogging seem to have massive tomato plants etc. I guess just the fact they have space to start everything off at the same time, whereas I need to do it all in stages.

            Anyway, thanks for the link. I actually saw a blog yesterday where the window frames were simply propped up round the vegetables!

          • Kalamain says:

            Seen that too.
            If it makes you feel any better I have had three failed sets of tomatoes so far this year. Only one set has germinated and those are… Small. >.>
            I just went outside 2 mins ago to check my greenhouse and they have grown in the past 2 days but not enough to do anything with other than remark that they have grown. *rollseyes*

          • Helen says:

            I think they will be fine. I find once things go in the ground, they come on in leaps and bounds 😊.

  3. Jane hOGAN says:

    Have you put out corn or anything yet? have mine in greenhouse and out during the day along with butternut squash, runners and cucumbers.. bit hesitant to put out. My spuds, carrots , beetroot are doing well but a bit of a rubbish germination of spinach, wierdly it had done best on the edge of my raised bed, still means more room for corn. What have you got under your milk bottles?

    Jane xx

    • Helen says:

      There are corn seeds mixed in with runners and pumpkins outside. The latter two are coming through but there are so many Jerusalem artichokes taking over that spot, it’s hard to tell what else is going on. I am probably being a bit rash with all this – and you are probably right to hold on a bit!

      Anyway, it’s cabbages and cauliflowers under the milk bottles. Oh, and mangetout in the photo with this blog post. x

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

