One tomato plant has had its day!

Last autumn, a tomato seedling appeared in a pot on my windowsill. No idea how it got there but, out of curiosity, I decided to let it grow to see what happened.

The upshot was an occasional cherry tomato in the spring but the plant itself looks non-too-healthy, so in the end I begrudged the space it was taking up.

Thus, the tomato plant had now moved to the patio


and in its place we have


lettuce. And Radio Bear, in case you wondered who was in the background.

Since reading Gaia’s Garden by Toby Hemenway, I would agree that all the energy expended on starting off annual vegetables can be frustrating (as well as bad for the soil etc). I also agree with him that tomatoes are still a crop worth growing. And since some lettuce appear to have self-seeded from last year, I hope the type I really want will do the same this year.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to One tomato plant has had its day!

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  2. Ah you finished the book .. πŸ˜ƒ I hope you enjoyed

  3. Tomatoes are my favorite edible to grow. They’re deliciously sweet and better than any we can find in the market. Best of luck with your edibles.

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Alys.

      My daughter has started to love homegrown tomatoes. I think the plant that was the subject of this post is going to die as it is still a little cold outside at night but I have at least twelve more to accommodate somehow!

      • I’m glad you have backups, Helen. Tomatoes do like the heat, don’t they? Mine are growing like weeds. I can’t wait till they start to produce.

        • Helen says:

          How long will it be till you get tomatoes, do you think?

          • The cherry tomatoes are already fully formed though still green. This is early, even for us. We’re due for a five-day heat wave so that may further the ripening process. I’ll keep you posted.

          • Helen says:

            I’ve got cherry tomatoes indoors but it’s incredible that you’ve got them outdoors. Are you looking forward to the heatwave?

          • I actually dread the heatwaves. I’m a fair-skinned redhead who belongs in the British Aisles instead of California. What to do? We’ll have several days of 85-90 F days (about 30 – 32C). I’m happier when it cools down. The garden generally has a growth spurt though, but at the same time, my sweet pea flowers are toast. Temps above 65 F usually spell the end.

          • Helen says:

            Oh dear, that sounds dreadful. To mean, a heatwave means 25 degrees C! I’m sorry you’ll be losing your sweet peas πŸ˜₯.

          • Now they’re predicted 101F by Friday. Ugh!

            It’s sad to see the sweet peas go, but I’m glad that I understand the cycle now. So many friends from other parts of the world said they usually last all summer if you keep cutting them back. I cut flowers regularly, but as soon as it heated up, they were done.

          • Helen says:

            Hot in comparison with here, that’s for sure. (I wasn’t uncomfortable in a padded coat today.)

            I’ve never grown sweet peas myself but I can imagine cool and moist is what they need.

          • I’ve just been reading about their preferences and they say cool roots, but warm leaves. They found exactly what they needed this year, and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the results.

          • Helen says:

            And hopefully, you’ll be able to enjoy them again next spring, Alys 😊.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

