View from the kitchen window

I learned on the PDC course that it was normal to have a dip in the weather about now, but I’m hoping that today will be the last of the chilly days. 

I do love my garden when it is raining, though. Everything looks so lush. And in comparison with previous years, it already seems quite full. No doubt this is in part because the strawberry plants have grown quite a bit and the Jerusalem artichokes have turned into a field of their own.

Anyway, looking out of the kitchen window onto the greenery


makes up for the fact that the carrots, mangetout and other crops seem to be growing very slowly. And the apple tree seems to be losing its blossom rather quickly. I just hope the bees of various kinds had chance to get it before it was too late!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to View from the kitchen window

  1. Lovely pic of a full garden! Enjoy, Helen 🙂

  2. Awesome update Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  3. streepie says:

    I agree – the rain does wonders for the garden! Our lettuces really love the weather (as do the slugs, unfortunately), and everything is so green and grows.
    There is a saying that a wet and cool May will bring a bountiful harvest. I hope that it is true for you!

  4. Lots happening in your garden! It was meant to pour this afternoon .. Thankfully it hasn’t 😃

  5. Pingback: The View from the Back Door – Life in Mud Spattered Boots

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

