‘Nature abhors a vacuum’

My original plan for the herb garden, once the hugel beds were in, was to use bricks to make a path between them. However, that hasn’t happened yet, so volunteer plants have been making their way to this patch of ground.


I think I do have enough bricks but overall I feel I would like something a little less solid and static. At the same time, I’d rather not get muddy feet if it rains just before I go out to pick a few leaves. And I’d rather spend time cooking than weeding, which has been my main gardening activity this week (again).

Then I remembered Pinterest! I still haven’t decided what to do but after two hours of browsing I have discovered a useful herb to add to the garden, if nothing else: Sempervivum.

Any other suggestions welcome!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ‘Nature abhors a vacuum’

  1. streepie says:

    Oregano and thyme are good as ground cover!

    • Helen says:

      I didn’t realise oregano was a ground cover. That’s great news as I was planing to put some of that in, anyway. Thank you, Connie.

  2. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed weekend

  3. gaiainaction says:

    Hi Helen, that sounds real good, that little plant is lovely looking and grows well I believe once it has established. Have a lovely weekend with not too much work ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Agnes – on holiday for a few days ๐Ÿ˜Š.

      And thanks for the comment on Sempervivum. I’ve been looking for places to buy it this evening.

      Have a lovely weekend yourself.

  4. There is a variety of chamomile that makes fabulous ground cover .. My oregano and thyme both grow up ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

