Lardon Chase

After saying bye bye to our YHA at Streatley-on-Thames this morning, it seemed fitting to have a closer look at some woods we had discovered on Sunday.


We didn’t have a lot of time to explore but at last I found somewhere to forage for nettle leaves to make some soup and cordial.

It was a bit eerie walking when there were no other souls about. Usually, wherever we go, there is someone. However, a family did eventually come along and ask what we were going to do with the nettles. ‘Good luck’ was a pleasant response in comparison with what some might have said!

Anyway, I’m really pleased with what I’ve seen in this part of the world. We used to camp in Henley-on-Thames, a nearby town, when I was a kid but much of the area was completely new to me. Still is, but maybe we will come back one day…..

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in In the kitchen, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lardon Chase

  1. Lovely thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Lush .. I’m wondering what that nettle cordial tastes like ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

