The battle commences 

Yesterday evening, we were early for my daughter’s piano lesson, so we took a short walk at the beginning of Meanwood Valley.


I was shattered by the time we got home and just wanted to plonk myself in bed. However, the goji berry bush near the backdoor had got itself a covering of aphids while we were away. So, out came the neem oil in the hope of getting rid of them before they destroyed the plant.


So far, the apple tree seems unscathed, apart from one bunch of leaves, which I must have missed last time. I also saw a few aphids hanging round the crab apple tree, so I sprayed that for good measure, too.

The aforementioned was playing host to what I think is a green shield bug, however. Not sure if it is a threat but it is a new species for me.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The battle commences 

  1. Kalamain says:

    Green shield bugs are not as much of a problem as aphids. Yes, they are sap drinkers but they generally don’t gather in any real numbers so won’t cripple a plant unless it’s very delicate or already afflicted.

    If they ARE in great numbers (check at night as well) they they can be a problem.

  2. lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  3. patsquared2 says:

    Hey Helen, good to know that aphids like Goji Berry plants! I just put 2 of them in the ground and didn’t know that this could be a problem. Now I will keep a weather eye out for them. FYI your Green Shield Bug looks and sounds remarkably like our stink bugs and they do a lot of damage. They especially like my squash and cuke plants – boring holes in the stems and eating away. If you see frass on the vines, you have borers. I am organic so my methods of warfare are a bit odd. I did a 2 parter on weapons of mass destruction for bugs. You might get a laugh out of some of the ideas and a few tips from others. https://growsoeasyorganic.com/2012/07/13/organic-gardening-made-easy-how-to-control-bugs-without-pesticides-part-2/

  4. Well done with the berm oil. Yes those green shield beetles are indeed a pest. They will nail your tomatoes and beans ..

    • Helen says:

      I’ve never noticed them before so hope this individual is a one-off 😕.

      • That was meant to be neem oil! Whoops .. Hopefully that is a lone beetle

        • Helen says:

          I’ve read this morning that here the beetles are a benign kind. In the south of England a different type has come over from the continent and they are a bit more of a threat. Fortunately, they are still not very widespread and their numbers are too small until the end of the summer, apparently, to cause a problem for beans.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

