I’m not the only one who loves chives

Today, I should have been on the PDC course but I’ve decided to relinquish my place – at least for the rest of this year. So, instead I’ve been out in the garden and in the kitchen.

Currently, a large jar is being sterilised for pickling chive flowers. These look so glorious at the moment, it has been hard to pick them.

As it happens, I’ve hardly made a dent in the number of pretty purple flowers, there is such an abundance of them. Which is great for the red-tailed bumble bees which were busy collecting pollen while I snipped away next to them.

I was blissfully unaware that there were different varieties of bees until I noticed the red furry bottom of the bees. And I am ever so pleased they are able to have such a feast!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I’m not the only one who loves chives

  1. jane says:

    Interested regarding pickling the flowers, what do you use them for once pickled? what do they taste like, never thought about doing this !

    • Helen says:

      I’ve not used them pickled before but I guess you can use them sprinkled on anything you would sprinkle them on fresh (eg toast, salad). They taste fresh just like chives, a mild onion taste. They are so yummy and so pretty 😊.

  2. ..but so nice fresh. As with many things, I’d be reluctant to pickle them .. but I suppose if you have too many it would be nice to preserve that taste.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I’ve got far to many to eat before they are past their best and I’m trying to store stuff for later in the year, so I don’t have to rely on buying food unnecessarily.

      Glad you like the taste 😊.

  3. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  4. Bees adore purple 😄

  5. S says:

    Helen, I’ve dropped by your blog a time or two before but not commented. I take it you are in the UK somewhere? I saw you mention the summers there are getting shorter?? I have a big pot of chives as you know but they have never flowered. This is the first time I have harvested them as heavily as I did last week when making the chive pesto. Do you have any insight on that? I’ve started following you to see how your yard garden is faring.

    Thanks much!
    Sarah

    • Helen says:

      Thanks very much for your comment and taking an interest in my garden!

      I can’t say for definite that the summers here are getting shorter but the spring seems to be cooler for longer. This makes it more difficult to get tender plants like tomatoes out.

      Strange that your chives have not flowered. Perhaps it is because they are in a pot? I think mine have flowered so abundantly because of all the rain last winter, so maybe your pot needs more water?

      Anyway, yes, I’m in the north of England.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

