Squeezing the tomatoes in

Since the last frost day has been and gone – and it has decided to be summer again – it seemed fitting to start planting out the tomatoes.


The first one has been squeezed between the rocket and garlic bulbils, now themselves being crowded out by self-sown phacelia. The phacelia will have to go as it’s almost pinning the bulbils to the grown. But these will be coming out the ground soon, too.

I’ve got a place for a second tomato plant but the third area I was intending to use for tomatoes has yet-to-mature onions in it. Perhaps these will simply have to be sacrificed as large spring onions. That sounds good, anyway.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Squeezing the tomatoes in

  1. streepie says:

    No need to sacrifice your onions – the work well together! Onions are great companion plants for tomatoes. I have to take out the broad beans to have space for the tomatoes.

    • Helen says:

      Good point – I’ve just been looking up companion planting actually. Maybe I need to trim back on the chard which has self-seeded there but as the toms are still small, I should be able to squeeze them in.

      Broad beans, I think, are a different matter. These must be coming to an end now, anyway?

  2. andy1076 says:

    ah tomatoes, It is indeed that time at last! πŸ™‚

  3. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

