The lone garlic bulb

With the day being a bit steamy, I decided to wait until it was almost dusk to tackle the spot where one of the tomato plants is to go. There were brambles and bluebells to dig out, so I got a bit warm anyway, but at least that is another job off the list!


The bonus was finding a garlic bulb that I planted two years ago. It was quite small but unlike the ones that have been eaten, it hasn’t bolted. 

Anyway, there is still plenty of moisture in the soil, which is just as well, considering the rain predicted hasn’t arrived. Methinks there could be a thunderstorm soon, though, what with the pressure building up.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The lone garlic bulb

  1. Lovely update thank you for sharing it lovely not the sun has come out but must rember to water the pots in the evening

  2. patsquared2 says:

    Love that you make lists, too. There is always soooo much to do outside that I simply cannot keep it all in my head anymore. So I keep a pad by my laptop and just jot down items as they come to mind. It really helps! Glad you found a survivor in your garden. I love little surprises like that!!

  3. Kalamain says:

    Yay for Garlic! lol. B-)
    Thankfully none of mine have bolted yet… But my issue is that I have forgotten when I need to pull them! >.<

    Apparently we are up for rain today… This afternoon I think. But that forecast was yesterday and we all know it could change between times!

    • Helen says:

      Yes, maybe sometime this afternoon.

      My garlic is bolting again this year but last year’s has done okay in spite of that.

      You take them out of the ground when the tops start to droop/turn brown… It’s hard to describe – the plant just looks ready somehow.

  4. Love reading your blog, keep up the good work.I’m trying garlic on my allotment for the first time this year.

  5. gaiainaction says:

    Lovely to find garlic that you planted last year, gardens can be fascinating places, you could find things growing there that one had all forgotten about, nice one 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

