The University of York

At the moment, I seem to showing places more often which are not my own back garden. It’s not that I haven’t been doing stuff or that nothing is happening. 

For example, I’ve doing a bit of tidying up: unruly phacelia was smothering the carrots, so it had to go. Unruly phacelia was also in the way of a spot where tomato plants are going to go. So, that too is now either in the compost bin or, in the case of the flower heads, in the council waste pile.

Basically, I’m waiting for the ever-promised rain before doing more planting out. However, while I’ve been waiting, I’ve taken a trip to the University of York, where I came across a very pleasant sight.

lake by the Ron Cooke Hub

It was so nice to sit by the lake as it cooled down. In fact, I could have stayed there all evening, it was so peaceful. Maybe I need some water on my property – one day!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The University of York

  1. andy1076 says:

    That’s quite the peaceful sight for sure 🙂

  2. Its lovely to share other places as well as our on backyards mined is still a work of progress have a blessed day

  3. Kalamain says:

    We had a little rain last night… Not a lot, my waterbutt is still low, but the ground is damp! B-)

    And I just had mental visuals of anthropomorphized plants running around with guns terrorizing the rest of the garden. >.<

    B-)

    • Helen says:

      Maybe you’ve had more rain now? Since waking up this morning, my garden has gone from being bone dry to saturated. All my windows are open to get the positive air into the house 😊.

      And one more tomato plant has just gone in the ground!

  4. Lovely image … Phacelia is unruly isn’t it, but so pretty in the garden 😀

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

