A day spent between the garden and the kitchen 

When I woke up this morning, the ground was still bone dry but within the hour the heavens had opened and the soil was replenished with water.


Having sorted out the phacelia last night, I was able immediately to crack on with planting out the tomato plants which were ready. (I’ve got plenty more in the house, which still need to grow a bit.) And this evening, it’s my third attempt at getting some courgettes to germinate – this time by direct sowing.

As for the herb garden, I’ve sown parsley, which is one of my favourite vegetables, next to the carrots. Hopefully, I won’t have to wait all summer for either, particularly as I’m hoping to move the bay tree from its pot before it’s too late for this year (designated new home where the carrots are).


Hopefully, it’s not too late to sow borage either. That’s gone in next to the sage. I’ve already got some growing elsewhere in the garden, though I fear most of it is smothered by the Christmas tree, still waiting to be put in a hugel bed.

After all that, I was glad to sit down with a glass of nettle cordial which I finished making today. A bit late but I don’t think it’s done the flavour any harm!

Last but not least, I’ve picked leaves from the perennial chard patch for freezing. I can’t believe how well that has been growing. And with such an abundance of chive flowers, I’ve pickled a second jar of those.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A day spent between the garden and the kitchen 

  1. streepie says:

    Sounds like a really productive day!

    My broad beans came out, the tomatoes went in, and I planted the runner beans. And since yesterday, I can pick strawberries – enough that we can each have a small bowl for dessert.

    • Helen says:

      You’re ahead of me with your strawberries – mine are still green.

      Anyway, great stuff with the tomatoes and runner beans. I might sow some more of the latter tomorrow but at least the French dwarf beans have sprouted.

  2. gaiainaction says:

    You are flying it Helen, it is lovely to see such a lot of things happening and growing in your garden, and you making nettle cordial, it’s all happening.
    I’m not even sowing anything this summer, just leaving the garden to the bees. End of September we are gone again and it just ain’t worth it, meanwhile there is still lots growing from last year.
    Great to catch up with you.

  3. Awesome update thank you for sharing Helen

  4. I’m a huge fan of parsley too .. So good having your own bay tree 😃

  5. Your garden is looking so pretty, Helen. I’ve been missing from the blogging world, crazy-busy with life. It’s nice to see it humming along.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

