Hardy perennials


Today, charity shopping with friends, I inevitably found lots of things I hadn’t been intending to buy. However, a £1 book which might tell me something useful about the hardy perennials I have wasn’t an object I felt I could pass up.

I’ve yet to read the book in detail  but without even trying, I amazed that I actually have a few that are mentioned: primroses, hostas and pulmonaria. Ideally, I would like more, so that there are flowers of some sort throughout the year.

Anyway, I’m not sure if lavender is considered a hardy perennial. It’s not mentioned in the book. However, the ones I sowed in the spring must certainly come from good seeds. Not only did they germinate within days but now they are flowering.


The lavender really needs to be outside in the herb garden but, as mentioned in a previous post, the carrots where it is intended to go are not ready yet. Still, I’m not averse to flowers in the house. 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Social and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Hardy perennials

  1. gaiainaction says:

    Looks like a good book Helen, was doing the same today and also bought a book, for one euro, but it’s not about gardening, it’s about China 🙂 Anyway good to know your plants are doing so very well. Enjoy your weekend.

  2. I love the smell of lavender. I used to have several shrubs growing along the deck, but eventually replaced them with less-thirsty plants (salvia). It’s such an amazing scent.

  3. atkokosplace says:

    Lavenders are a favorite of mine. I’ve never been able to grow them from seed. I think I need better seed or a greener thumb! Awesome that you had success. I do love the smell of the flowers. 🙂

  4. Awesome thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  5. Karen says:

    Your books was a bargain even if twice the price. If your lavender is English rather than French, it is probably hardy if grown in a sunny and well drained spot…it doesn’t like wet feet in the winter.

  6. I sure would say in most cases lavender is a hardy perennial. But it sure does need a good pruning from time to time. 🙂

  7. suburbable says:

    Isn’t charity shop shopping fun. I always end up with more than I bargained for.

    Lavender is definitely a hardy perennial. It loves the sun and good drainage. The aroma is better in the warm weather, I know when its at its peak because smelling it at that time gives me a headache!

  8. Interesting post! I have to agree that I find myself buying more things that I would never have thought I wouldve bought if I wasnt charity shopping! Charity shops have such good finds these days! It’s great that you can get a little back from helping great causes!

    If you’re interested in Charity shopping, I’ve just written a review on Octavia Foundation, Tooting. Have a read and spread the word on the good work that they do: tootinghustle.wordpress.com

    Happy blogging x

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

