We need to be outside, too!

My dad once said to me that a difficulty he had always found was one crop not being ready to come out before another needed to go on. This year, I know in particular what he means.

For example, the carrot packet might suggest three and a half months but five is more realistic. However, these cucumbers


are fortunate in that there was a space for them – with poles already there for them to climb up, since the mangetout are determined to hug the strawberries beneath.

These cucumbers have gone bananas over the past few days. This seems to be because of pot size; if pots are too small, the roots can’t develop sufficiently to support a strong plant, thus no strong plant. My other cucumber plants have therefore gone into bigger pots now, although in view of the space issue I will have to get create if they grow too quickly.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to We need to be outside, too!

  1. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed week

  2. Oh I have the same problem in my garden .. no matter how much I plan it, there is always something still hogging the garden.

  3. It’s a good problem to have, Helen. I’m glad things are growing so well.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

