Weed or wildflower?

I haven’t got a lot of time today for the garden but couldn’t resist a walk round earlier – it is always so much more pleasurable to wander about when it is cool and damp. 

Anyway, whilst surveying the territory, I saw what I thought was a weed growing under the pine tree (dead, for the next hugel bed). I’ve seen many before – except that I’ve got to them sooner, before they developed flowers.


Oh mine! What beautiful flowers they are, too.

I’ve tried to find out what plant this could be. But to no avail. It is presumable wild rather than cultivated but whatever it’s provenance, I want to keep it now and would love to have a name for it.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Weed or wildflower?

  1. patsquared2 says:

    Did you crush one of the leaves and check for smell? Sometimes you can identify “unknowns” that way. I’ve not seen a plant like this one. Interested in knowing what it is, though.

    • Helen says:

      I’ve got a friend on the case – she’s going to take a look for me. So, maybe I will have an answer to the question soon.

      I’ll also see what I can smell 😊.

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  3. Kalamain says:

    Is it Wild Carrot? (Daucus carota)

    • Helen says:

      You know, I’ve long thought the leaves looked like a carrot. However, it doesn’t have the umbels of the carrot family and the flowers aren’t white. It could be a hybrid?

  4. suburbable says:

    It looks like fumitory. Its old name is fumitory-off-the-wall and it can be pink or white.

  5. I’ll send it to my hort teacher and see if she knows. I’ve seen it before ..😊

  6. My hort teacher said scrambling fumitory 😀

  7. drofmit4108 says:

    Fumitory is what I call a “nice weed”…. good ground cover, pulls up easily when you want yo plant something, looks pretty and composts well!
    And there are garden plant varieties as well with different coloured flowers….
    after all, a weed is just a plant in the wrong place!!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

