Couch grass

We seem to have had a reprieve from the most recent bout of rainy weather, so I decided it was time to get the spade out and make more space in the garden by getting rid of various unwanted vegetation.


Actually, I also dug up two bulbs of garlic which seem to have been left over from last year. That makes four in total…. And I didn’t dig this up but it looks like there’s a potato plant growing. Quite how when I no longer put potato peelings in the compost, I don’t know.

Anyway, there are still loads of bluebells to dig up and, though I haven’t been plagued with couch grass, there are odd little patches which had never been dealt with. I was feeling a bit too lazy to deal with it all in one good but at least the rhizomes don’t seem to have spread, so it is easy enough on a superficial level to get out the ground.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Couch grass

  1. Kalamain says:

    Could it have been a previous piece of potato that has finally come up?
    A few years ago I planted some potatoes and for about 3 years after I got odd sproutings near where I had them. >.>

  2. It’s amazing how the smallest piece of potato can grow. We got our allotment last July, unaware of what had previously been grow on the site, obviously lots of potatoes. They are popping up everywhere !

  3. awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  4. mybrightlife says:

    Its amazing what can end up where…..

  5. I have that grass too in my garden. Horrid stuff ..

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

