A bumble bee joined me in the rain 

I’d been hardening off some lettuce ready to be put into a small trough my sister had given me – yes, I had been trying to avoid containers but this one is just the right sharp to fit under a frame I saved from when I first started gardening.


The other great thing about this trough is that it will fit under the kitchen window once the onions there have come out. They’re not big enough yet but the garlic that I actually planted last autumn (as opposed to the bulbs which got forgotten from the year before) looked like they needed to be moved to the kitchen.

It was a delicate operation, as last year’s poppies had self-seeded amongst the garlic. Not only that but with one of them on the verge of bursting into flower


it would clearly have been a shame to have lost it before its time.

However, the best bit of the evening was seeing a bumblebee huddled under a phacelia flower. I didn’t have my phone so no photo – but in any case I wanted to enjoy the moment. It looked like it was sheltering from the rain, although I have no idea if this would be normal bumblebee behaviour.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A bumble bee joined me in the rain 

  1. andy1076 says:

    Maybe the bee had an idea or two huh! 🙂

  2. patsquared2 says:

    Love the poppies moving in with the garlic. For the last 2 years, I have found beautiful (and blooming) Bachelor Buttons growing in among my garlic plants! As to the bumblebee, I always thought they were pacifists — wouldn’t hurt you. But last year I actually had a bumblebee nest right under one of my blueberry bushes. First time I ever saw ferocious bumblebees…but if I got within 2 feet of their ground nest, they hustled out to let me know I should back off. That blueberry bush didn’t get picked, at all!

    • Helen says:

      I’m sure we are all territorial somewhere along the line. Hopefully, you get all your blueberries this year, though.

      What do your Bachelor Buttons look like?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

