Rain, sun and sleep

Inspired by A Tale of Two Gardens, I popped outside to check on my hosta. This year because of all the extra vegetation surrounding it, I have been unable to put the usual crushed eggshells round it.

I had thought I might pull out the phacelia, which in any case would be stealing moisture from the apple tree. However, the bumblebees were out feasting, so the phacelia stays. Besides, the tree is doing fine this year (touch wood) and so is the hosta, it would appear.

Talking of purple flowers, and the point of this post, I noticed that overnight the borage has appeared.


In comparison with the other side of the garden, the herb hugel beds are still decidedly bare. The lovage has seemingly failed to germinate and I’m still waiting on most other stuff. But now I have borage, I almost don’t care about the rest!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Rain, sun and sleep

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  2. Good luck with the borage – once you have some you’ll always have it. it’s a prolific self-seeder but none the worse for that

  3. Your hosta’s in fine form after all 🙂

  4. gaiainaction says:

    It is looking very good Helen, that is lovely, the borage will be loved by the bees that’s for sure. Hope you had a restful weekend 🙂 Greetings.

  5. Isn’t it great to have borage! We have a lot now on our land, it grows so fast! I’ll be posting some pics soon 🙂

  6. Love it … here you are happy to have your borage – and I’m busy pulling mine out. It is just lovely but so bossy. Why are you using egg shells?

    • Helen says:

      The eggshells are to stop the slugs. As said, I haven’t put any down this year but no doubt there are some left over from last year. Maybe all the calcium has helped my hosta get bigger and stronger, too ☺️.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

