Garlic bulbils 2016

Last summer, the garlic bolted. This meant there were lots of bulbils, which I planted over the winter. The majority of these I dug up today, having decided they looked like they were ready, if this concept is appropriate for them.


To be honest, they look almost as big as some of the garlic bulbs I’ve just dug up, planted from bought bulbs. I wonder therefore if this is because the garlic has naturalised to my environment or if the soil was simply less heavy in this spot.

In any case, I felt that they needed to come out of the ground, so that they can be replanted with wider spacing. This I will do later in the year. 

However, there are other bulbils which I am leaving in situ. They are in a bed of poppies (unintended) and, besides not wanting to disturb the flowers, it will be interesting to see how these fare from growing for two years undisturbed.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Garlic bulbils 2016

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Not sure but I suspect the size maybe because they were grown from the bulbils and not cloves ..😃

    • Helen says:

      Yes, you could be right, Julie. Anyway, it will be interesting to see how they grow when they are put in the ground again in the autumn.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

