The bumblebee sting

Still in my pyjamas, it seemed like a good idea to do some strawberry picking while the sun was out earlier on. The strawberries aren’t totally ripe but I couldn’t bare the thought of losing them (all).

It’s a bit tricky negotiating the path through the forest garden at the moment, what with the netting and vegetation covering up the stones and bricks I step along. Thus, it is no wonder I brushed against some phacelia.

The next thing I knew was a jab in my thigh! At a pinch, the jab could have been the phacelia. But through the fleece? And leaving a small swelling? 

The bumblebee who done it, I believe, had taken a fancy to the pyjamas. It wasn’t trying to collect any pollen or nectar, though. Instead it was rubbing its hindquarters over the fabric, which I was now pulling up as far away from my skin as possible.

Then I noticed something I’ve been eagerly waiting for over the past few days. Except it was a different poppy from the one I had expected.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Wildlife and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The bumblebee sting

  1. Sorry to here you were stung by a bumble bee hope you soon get better blessing Helen

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Linda. As far as I remember, the sting is not as bad as a wasp sting. But like wasps, the bumblebee can live to sting again šŸ˜Š.

  2. Kalamain says:

    Well… At least we know you are not allergic to bee stings!

  3. Ah bad bumble .. I’ve only been stung once by them. Love those poppies šŸ˜€

  4. Helen, I’m sorry to hear about the bee sting. I’ve been stung myself in the past, so I know it smarts. The good news is that it doesn’t last long.

    Best of luck tomorrow with Brexit. It’s received a lot of press here.

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Alys. A very worrying situation.

      Anyway, yes, the bumblebee sting was short-lived. Not that I want to upset the bumblebees again….

      • The news shocked the world, didn’t it? And it’s clear that the UK is as divided as the US. Brexit is pretty evenly split down the middle. I should probably keep my politics off of your blog, so feel free to delete my comment. It seems to me that so many of the people who are feeling disenfranchised, think that going backwards is somehow better than finding an alternate way forward. If Trump is elected, I think it would be one of the worst things to happen to this country in a century. He’s manage to insult virtually everyone (except white males of course). His hateful rhetoric and dangerous policies, coupled with his castle-sized ego frighten me.

        • Helen says:

          I like you politics, Alys, so please feel free to comment!

          People here are worried about Trump, which is of course of very little consolation. As for Brexit, there are misgivings in the Leave camp, though how far that is just more spin after all the lies is another question.

          It saddens me that the world seems so full of fear and hate šŸ˜„.

          • Thank you, Helen.

            It saddens me too. I think a lot of hate comes from fear and I think a lot of fear comes from lack of education. If we could open people’s minds to the wonderful possibilities of the world, I think we would be a better place.

            If I could be “queen for a day” I would implement a service requirement of all individuals. They would be required to spend one year, either after high school or after college, participating in a program like CARE or the Peace Corp helping others while learning a skill. If we all could travel more,see more and understand more, maybe we wouldn’t be so quick to judge. It’s much harder to judge with your eyes wide open.

          • Helen says:

            Yes, I think experience shapes people’s thoughts.

            To be honest, I wonder if there is a way to really change the world for the better. There seems to be something in the human genome which keeps people locked in a cycle of fear and oppression.

          • We’ve made progress throughout the centuries. It just feels much slower than many of us would like. Abolishing slavery, working towards equal rights for women, LGBT, and people of color. We must keep pushing forward. I’m hopeful that there is still good in people and that we can continue to move toward light and peace.

          • Helen says:

            But then racist attacks have escalated, apparently, since the EU referendum….. Of course, it may well have been happening unreported before – but now the media bandwagon has moved in an anti-leave direction, it’s suddenly okay to portray immigration in a more positive light.

            I’ve just been away from work for a week, so it will be interesting to see today what the reaction has been there.

          • I hope you had a nice break from work and that you first week back went well. I heard on today’s local news that the racist attitudes seem to be more prevalent, including graffiti and offensive slurs. It makes me so sad. The pendulum is swinging the wrong way, isn’t it? What does your daughter think of all this, or is she still too young to pay it much notice? Both my boys are pretty dialed in where current events and politics are concerned. We talk about it quite a bit.

          • Helen says:

            Good you can talk to your boys about the goings-on in the political arena.

            My daughter is starting to talk about politics, although mostly it is me explaining the mechanics of things. I don’t think she’s quite old enough to have her own opinion on the subject, though.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

