Distracted by the strawberries 


The above photos flatters the front garden more than reality. I’d just finished a bit of weeding – plants I didn’t sow where I’d sown cornflour and honesty seeds.

The back garden is a different matter. I’ve never been so pleased. Every morning a new batch of poppies has unfurled its flowers – just a shame that sometimes within hours the petals have blown off.

Then there are the strawberries, loved by many. Not least, the mummy blackbirds, who have found a way under the netting to have a nibble.

blackbird amongst the strawberries

So, further work on the front garden will have to wait while I enjoy what’s going on elsewhere.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Wildlife and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Distracted by the strawberries 

  1. Thank you for sharing Helen lovely update have a blessed day

  2. Those flowers are beautiful! Hope the wind dies down for you 🙂

  3. Karen says:

    When there are ripe berries, birds seem to always find a way to get them. Hope you are getting your share.

  4. Poppies are so very delicate ..

  5. It’s looking lush, Helen.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, the photo does have a flattering effect. Unfortunately, almost none of the seeds I deliberately sowed have germinated, so it’s a bit bare behind the front section. Heavy, dry soil. So, either more seed-starting inside or plug plants…. Watch this space 😉.

      • That made me smile. Maybe the birds took your seeds. Is that possible?

        • Helen says:

          Yes, that is possible 😉

          • I remember the carefully planting sunflower seeds with my son when he was young, three to a hole, evenly spaced, calculated…you know the drill. We waited and waited, and finally I dug up the soil and not a seed in sight.

            I tried a second batch indoors, but they were too leggy and weak. I finally crafted something to cover them over the narrow planters and a crop was born. It’s humbling to know that it takes real brain power to outsmart a squirrel.

          • Helen says:

            Yes, our wildlife has skills we don’t. Pleased you eventually got some sunflowers. Mine are having a hard time, after braving it for the first time in about five years.

          • Any improvements with the sunflowers?

          • Helen says:

            One almost eaten but the other is hanging on…. I do have others which are not in the ground, so hopefully one way or another there will still be sunflowers to admire later in the year 😊.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

