We don’t just like strawberries

I weighed in the strawberries I picked today at about a pound, so I guess this week we’ve collected altogether at least two pounds. In other words, I’m quite happy to let the resident birds munch on the fruit as well.

I’m not so happy that they’ve taken a swipe at the dwarf French beans. 


Out of the eight beans sown, four managed to grow, until they were arrested by their tops being pecked off. In the probably vain hope that there is any life left to salvage, two of the plants have gone in the ground but I’ve sown some more – and moved them to a different spot.

The lettuces I put in the herb garden seem to be doing okay. Perhaps the birds are preoccupied with the delicacies at the other end of the garden, in the mini food forest. So, by my reckoning, the beans should do better in the herb garden, too.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to We don’t just like strawberries

  1. You’re weighing them? We’re still counting ours! (16 so far)

  2. Kalamain says:

    Have you considered growing a sacrificial crop?
    I just read about this last night. So far I have only heard about plants to DETER pests… But now you can grow crops to draw them away!

    https://www.growveg.co.uk/guides/trap-cropping-to-control-pests/

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I have sacrificial crops all over the garden but the beans were high up on a pile of wood (ie in a great position for the birds to get at unhindered). Besides, I’m not sure what would act as a sacrificial crop for birds?

      • Kalamain says:

        Lupins? I know they like eating the seeds in the pods when ripe

        • Helen says:

          Next door has lupins which have self-seeded in my garden but not got any flowers. Would the pods be ripe yet?

          • Kalamain says:

            Some of mine are getting the pods, but they are not ripe yet.
            There must be something at this time of year, maybe a berry of some kind?

          • Helen says:

            Strawberries….

          • Kalamain says:

            LOL!
            Yeah… *hangs head* It does seem to be a bit circular! B-)

            If you are happy to lose strawbs then that will work… But there has to be something else.

          • Helen says:

            They haven’t taken many strawberries – overall, I think they prefer slugs and worms, but who can resist a bit of sweet?

            It would be interesting to see if there was something else that I didn’t feel I was losing as a crop, though.

            Anyway, thanks for the interest you’ve shown in this topic. Let me know if you come across anything.

  3. Blessing and a lovely update non of mind have grown

  4. That’s a great crop! I think the wildlife get way more of ours than we do 🙂

    • Helen says:

      The birds seem to have laid off over the last couple of days…. Maybe me inadvertently scaring them when they were under the netting (so they panicked and then got trapped) has put them off. That said, I haven’t checked since last night (it’s half seven in the morning here), so it might be a completely different situation now 😉.

  5. We love fresh strawberries too. Much better than store bought. this year, the robins ate our red currants before I could harvest. The currants were very sweet, but I was a day too slow.

    • Helen says:

      I think that might happen to my red currants. I have three on what is still a very small bush, and I’m waiting to see what they turn out like rather than eat them 😉.

      Sorry you missed yours by a day.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

