Taming the unruly 

This year, I seem to be spending far more time than ever before pulling and digging out unwanted vegetation. So much for mulch and ground cover supposedly keeping weeds at bay.

To be fair, the reason there were brambles growing in the front garden is down to the fact that I put branches from the blackberry bush under the manure I used to get rid of my front lawn. I thought I had removed it all, once I had realised the mistake but it looks like some of it got left behind, even it was just fragments.

However, I cannot see that this is the reason for the same growing in one of the hugel beds in the herb garden, so in this case it must have been a seed blowing in. And now it is no more.

Instead, where once the brambles were growing alongside the carrots, I have now planted a lavender plant. Great that it had already started to flower in its pot. Now, I hope it grows from a seedling into a bush.

And deciding where exactly to place the lavender was made easier, thanks to one carrot on the verge of flowering, too. And thanks to rebeccatreeseed, I have been inspired to save seed to produce plants which have naturalised to my environment (I hope).

Certainly, the chard that ended up all over the garden because I put its flowers in the compost bin seems to doing remarkably well. So I’m filling the freezer with it in the hope that later in the year I will be able to rely less than previously on buying vegetables in. (As it is, I’ve been able to reduce my food bill quite a lot by eating what the garden produces.)

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Taming the unruly 

  1. gaiainaction says:

    Thanks for sharing your gardening activities Helen, it’s lovely to read about them, great work.

  2. drofmit4108 says:

    Brambles are beasts…. but, their seeds don’t blow in…
    birds, especially those of the thrush family. love blackberries!!
    Bird eats blackberry…which can contain up to 40 seeds…
    the ones that get between your teeth in jam…
    and, after following the course of things eaten, the seeds get deposited…
    along with fresh manure….fortunately, very few survive!!
    But it is one of the reasons why brambles are most common in hedges and beneath tree canopies!!
    Personally, I prefer bramble jelly…
    blackberry pips seem to fit between my teeth perfectly!!

    The lavender is one of the best butterfly plants around…but keep it cut back…
    if it gets leggy, it won’t grow again from the bottom, and you have to layer a branch to create a “new” plant and get rid of the old!
    Cut back in the Spring to increase the amount of flower spikes…and again after you’ve harvested the flowerheads…to keep it in shape…then, you will have the bush you want!
    The Spring cuttings take well…bury in a soil/sand mix almost to their tips…
    pot on when it is obvious that they are growing well…
    it is something you can let your young lass do….
    you’ll soon have a lavender hedge all around the front garden that your neighbour isn’t too fond of!!
    If you want a nice trip out, the lavender farm near Castle Howard is worth a visit…
    they have free leaflets on Lavender care…
    but don’t buy the lavender mustard, or the chocolate…
    both taste like furniture polish!!!

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I’ve been to one of the lavender farms in North Yorks – can’t remember the name now.

      If I got enough blackberries, I would make jelly for sure. The pips get stuck in my teeth, too!

  3. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  4. My weeds often shove aside the mulch .. Cheeky!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

