The first day of the month (and can you ever get sick of strawberries?)

I know that my garden has evolved over the last six-seven years, since I bought the house. When I look at past photos, this knowledge is confirmed.

However, with everything now being digital and on different devices, some more accessible than others, there is no easy way of comparing. My idea therefore is to write a post at the start of each month which builds on the posts from the first day of previous months. Then even if I have the misfortune to lose my iCloud password etc, there will be some kind of document of what happens over the seasons as well as specifically how my garden might evolve.

So, this month, one long shot from the back door and a close-up of the herb garden:


The herb garden is pretty devoid of herbs at the moment. The sage I planted a couple of months ago is doing fine and fingers crossed the newly planted lavender will likewise thrive. On the other hand, most of the other herbs, sown as seeds, have failed to germinate, bar the odd bit of coriander, which has already bolted.

Overall, this year seems to have been a bad year for seeds. I  think therefore I will in future buy from a different company and do mail order, as I have heard that seeds acquired this way tend to be fresher.

Nothing could be fresher than the strawberries which the forest garden is pumping out at the moment. Maybe I didn’t need to go strawberry picking in Pontefract last Sunday after all, although we do at least have a large supply of jam as well as strawberry sorbet from such an overwhelming amount of fruit.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The first day of the month (and can you ever get sick of strawberries?)

  1. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Your garden looks lovely
    Honey

  3. I too go through stages with seeds. I keep mine in the fridge πŸ˜„ Your garden looks fab btw.

  4. You’ve worked really hard, well done. Things are looking great. xx

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Sue! Not sure how hard I’ve worked as the strawberries are prolific in the runners they produce, the poppies and chard self-seeded magnificently. Have a good day x

  5. No. Never. Never, ever, ever. πŸ™‚

    It’s looking lush and inviting, Helen. You must be really enjoying your garden.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

