Front garden flowers

On the patio at the back of the house is a date palm which I would like to put in the front garden. Except that at the moment there are flowers in the way.

I had thought I could remove the phacelia, which is one of the flowers growing in the spot for the palm. Certainly, the flowers are on the wane. However, not only were there bumblebees on it but the red/deep pink stems and leaves as the plant ages were too attractive for me to pull out. 


Another flower I am pleased to keep is the lupins I bought for their – at least to me – unusual flowers. Even though they took up windowsill space which was needed for food plants, I’m glad I did it this way round, considering nothing is germinating in the ground.


As if this wasn’t enough, it was great to see the marigolds out, along with a weed which might otherwise be a wildflower. I guess it would take another gardener to realise that the latter mightn’t be part of a grand plan…..

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Front garden flowers

  1. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  2. It’s a pretty weed though, isn’t it? I have one or two things growing in my garden now that I didn’t plant this year or in the past. I’m playing the wait and see approach.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

