The Hebe ‘Heartbreaker’

What is the thing you like least about winter? For me it is the lack of colour and bare soil in the garden. There is a certain architectural interest in branches, especially when there is frost or snow but I want the front garden to be a year-round display of more than just brown and grey.


So, I was really pleased to see a hebe in my local garden centre which isn’t just in leaf throughout the year but will have colourful leaves.

Hebe ‘Heartbreaker’ will hopefully be able to withstand a lot of shade in December and January, when the sun doesn’t get high enough to shed direct sunlight on much of the front garden for very long. I’ve placed it as far towards the front as space allows and now I will simply have to let nature take its course.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Hebe ‘Heartbreaker’

  1. Awesome thank you for sharing Helen have a blessed day

  2. Kalamain says:

    I considered getting some Erica for just that job.

    I also have a Hebe that has done nothing for years… Not a single flower. Bloody annoying. Obviously I’m doing something wrong, but I have no idea what.

  3. Mr. Bill says:

    Thanks for the post. I hope it continues to grow.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

