Fifteen kale seedlings

The peppers and tomatoes are suffering outside. Or so it seems to me. On the other hand, the lettuce are doing unusually well. So, it seems this is going to be a cold crop year.

Just as well, when I potted on the kale seedlings this evening, I counted 15 in all. Just as well there weren’t anymore, as the once emptying windowsills are filling up again (more cauliflowers to pot on as well, if I can find the pots for them).


This will be the third year I’ve grown kale. In year one (2014), the crop amounted to two very small plants. Then last year, I got more and slightly bigger plants. So, this year, if all fifteen only grow to the size of last year, I will be pleased. But hopefully they will get to something bigger than one meal each.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fifteen kale seedlings

  1. I can relate to your gardening pain…Last year I wound up with 4 beets.. good thing was only I eat them.. this year there will be more I hope.. Good luck with your kale and I hope you get many meals out of the group of 15..

    Take care and happy gardening to ya, Laura 🙂

  2. My kale is going famously .. In fact, I’m due to go grab some for our morning juice 😃

  3. gaiainaction says:

    Wow, yes weather and temperature are always affecting our plants and gardens, hope it improves for you Helen.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

