Comparing The Three Sisters

Even though the birds had nobbled the tops of the dwarf beans, I still planted a couple in a hugel bed to see if there was life left in them….. And yes, one of them has started sprouting new leaves. Sadly, not the other, although there are new beans on the verge of germinating, so a replacement will be planted soon.


In the said hugel bed, I think I spy one sweet corn plant emerging. Sweet corn has never done well in my garden – or rather, I think it needs to be started earlier and indoors. But then it doesn’t seem to germinate indoors, so I’m reluctant to use up precious space on it.

The pumpkin, fortunately, is just coming into flower. This variety is a compact plant – or that was the growth habit last year, so hopefully it will be compact this year, too… Which I think it will be, considering how small it is, even after being in the ground for four – six weeks.

Further along the garden, The Three Sisters is very different. Some of the runner beans have finally germinated and are starting to run up the poles. There is also a pumpkin, somewhere in the undergrowth. Unfortunately, the Jerusalem artichokes have swamped the area, so I am considering some kind of containment before they take over completely. They do, however, create an effective, albeit temporary, screen.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Comparing The Three Sisters

  1. I’m a huge fan of the Three Sisters .. Must grow it again this year. šŸ˜€

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

