Plant identification workshop

Last year, I made a mistake in thinking that cow parsley was elderflower. Thankfully, cow parsley is not hemlock, both of which, along with elder, are part of the umbellifer family. And once I realised the dangers of foraging without sufficient education, I embarked on a course to find out more about the subject.

That was interesting but it only touched the surface, so when I saw the course I did today it was an opportunity I couldn’t miss. Indeed, I am very pleased with what I’ve learned.

First, we looked at how to identify plants through their leaves


and their flowers


before looking at plants around the site.

Many of the flowers, apart from being either nutritious or medicinal, were very pretty. I was particularly taken with mallow and hope one day to have some in my own garden.


My daughter, on the other hand, was perhaps most taken with a swarm of bees, which co-incidentally arrived soon after the workshop started.


And was taken away whilst we were there.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Social, Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Plant identification workshop

  1. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  2. What a fun, informative workshop, Helen. There is always so much to learn.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, indeed, Alys. Even if the knowledge is not directly useful, it’s definitely fun. Eg dandelions are part of the daisy family!

  3. I too love mallow. It is good being able to identify plants .. Love the last image 😊

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

