The date palm

A few years ago, my dad gave me a very small date palm. I think it was in the days before I started blogging, so I never thought to take a photograph.

I potted it on – the next pot was huge at the time but this year the palm was starting to look sorry for itself. So, I realised it was time for it to go in the ground.


I knew it wasn’t going to be easy getting the tree out of its pot. I’d had a struggle with the pine tree a couple of years earlier. At the same time, if I’d succeeded then I could succeed again (without breaking the pot, which aside from being expensive is one of my favourites).

Anyway, after half an hour of prizing the plant away from the pot’s sides with a hoe, after copious amounts of water, and lots of wobbling the plant about, it finally came out. And immediately, I could see why it had been suffering: the roots were coiled round the bottom of the base.


I wasn’t able to dig a hole deep enough in the front garden for the palm, so I heaped soil round the roots above the original soil level. I hope this will be sufficient – and that the roots in the soil will be able to stretch out, so that the tree is able to withstand the probable strong winds in the winter.


One thing’s for sure, the patio now looks quite empty. It’s got me thinking about what I can do to fill the space. However, I will sit on it (literally as well as metaphorically) for a while before making any decisions.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The date palm

  1. Thank you for sharing have a blessed day Helen

  2. jane says:

    it looks really pretty xx

  3. Karen says:

    Helen, I wanted to let you know that I don’t think you have a date palm…at least not like any I have seen. They have long feathery fronds comprised by numerous narrow leaflets that end in sharp spines,

    • Helen says:

      Thank you for the clarification, Karen. I had a look on the internet this afternoon, after I’d posted and thought perhaps I’d been given the wrong name. Have you any idea what it might be?

      • Karen says:

        Not really being able to see the leaves well, it looks like it might be in the dracaena family…are the leaves solid green or do they have a slightly lighter edging around them?

        • Helen says:

          They have yellow marks like the rust you get on alliums. I think that might be down to lack of nourishment for a while. Anyway, it is hard to be sure whether that and the yellow tips are part of their natural colour, unfortunately.

  4. Beautiful plant Helen, will be interesting to see how big it gets now! I have a similar one, same thing happened when I took it out, omg the roots! It’s in a bigger pot atm as I haven’t found a place for it, you reminded me, I need to!

    • Helen says:

      It sometimes takes time to find the right spot, doesn’t it? I hmmed and ahhed about whether it could fit into the back garden but I think it helps define the front better.

  5. The palm is gorgeous and very healthy looking. It is a great addition to your front yard flower bed. The bed gives your front yard great curb appeal.
    Honey

  6. Kalamain says:

    Karen is right…. It’s not a date palm. It’s a Yucca. (Or Yukka?)

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

