All the greens I could have ever wished for

perennial chard patch before it is pulled out.

After three summers, I finally decided the chard I had been growing as an experiment to see if it could be perennial had to go. I’d chopped it down and some wonderful leaves grew in the spring. Then it bolted, not for the first time in its life but for the last.

It’s too close to the crab apple tree, so will probably be taking moisture from the soil around what is still very much a sapling. Besides, in view of the amount of chard which has self-seeded this year, I can hardly say I want for multi-purpose green leaves.

As if this wasn’t enough, the lettuce has been doing remarkably well this year. Normally, if it germinates at all, it quickly turns to seed. This means I have had some this year which was self-seeded. 

However, my sister’s donation of a long tub has turned out to be ideal for true heads of lettuce. I’m on my second this week and fortunately I had two seedlings in reserve to fill their places. So, tonight I’ve put more seed in pots in the hope that this will have germinated for when I need further replacements.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to All the greens I could have ever wished for

  1. Thanks for sharing, Helen. I wish I’d read the tip about the lettuces before we planted ours yesterday lol. Straight into the ground..hoping they’ll be ok πŸ™‚ Great to hear that yours are!

    • Helen says:

      I think it depends on the soil. They do tend to bolt in hot weather, though, so our cool summer might actually be the main reason they are doing so well. Anyway, I hope yours are a success, Kathy.

  2. How nice to have success with your lettuce. I tried growing it here one year, but the heat finished it off before we had a single leaf. I’ve since learned it is just too hot here.

    I did harvest several tomatoes today and they are delicious. They’re sweet and juicy. It’s so fun to grow food, isn’t it Helen?

    • Helen says:

      Absolutely! And thankfully our lack of heat hasn’t stopped the tomatoes here – I too was able to harvest some yesterday 😊.

      Enjoy your harvest, Alys!

  3. Lovely update Helen thank you for sharing have a blessed day i had some lettuce come up and going to sow some more even David has liked it and got my orders to grow some more along with rocket have a blessed day

  4. patsquared2 says:

    I do lettuce every year – starting from seed in February and putting it out in early March. I have to cover it when the weather threatens frost but I am eating my lettuce by early May right through to June. And then I let all of my lettuce plants go to seed, bag some of them and save the seed and let the birds and the dirt have the rest. Every year I get a nice mixed group of lettuce that start themselves supplemented with those I start, indoors. Here’s how I do it: https://growsoeasyorganic.com/2015/02/18/planting-lettuce-in-the-dead-of-winter/

  5. Nothing like well protected lettuce!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

